Why is the "Auto send user their login details" option disabled?In MIDAS v4 the "Auto send user their login details" option on the "Manage Users & Permissions" admin page is only available if you are entering a new password for the selected user.
In earlier versions of the software (pre v4), you could tick this box at any time to send the person an email reminder of their current login credentials. However, as a result of security enhancements in v4 it is no longer possible to send such password reminders (as once a password has been set, it is encrypted & stored, and cannot be decrypted again by the system)
Therefore, if someone has forgotten their current password, the only option is to reset it, as their current password cannot be retrieved. The user may reset their password themselves via the "Forgot Your Password?" link on the login screen. Alternatively, MIDAS administrators with sufficient privileges can specify new account passwords at any time through the "Manage Users & Permissions" screen. If specifying a brand new password in this way, the "Auto send user their login details" check box becomes available.
← Return to Knowledgebase